The Mystery of Blue Star Lodge

P1050293

When I first started weeding last month,
I started going section by section looking for books that looked old by “reading” the spine.
I found this one in the “K” section, for the illustrator.
Maybe she looks so horrified because she was alphabetized under  the wrong letter of the alphabet on the shelf…
maybe it was because she tucked in between two volumes of Stephen King’s offerings.
(My student helpers cannot alphabetize to save their lives…
and yes I have taught them over and over again)

Who is she kidding?
She’s hiding behind her bicycle?
Maybe it broke down, she has a screwdriver in one hand.
I do like that even when she is bike riding she is fashion conscious –
her shoes match her top.

I love the caption on the cover…
“Four girls pedal their way to mystery and adventure”

I tried reading that line to a friend at a nearby school
and couldn’t read it to him without cracking up.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Dreadful Book Covers, High School Libraries, HotLibraryTech, Library humor

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Mystery of Blue Star Lodge”

  1. alwaysjan Says:

    I can’t tell if she’s hiding. She looks like the crepe paper we used to weave into the wheels of our bikes. Remember adding playing cards to get that special sound. OMG, suddenly I feel ANCIENT!


Leave a Reply

