The last book fair…

Our last book fair was the end of March 2012.  I know, I said that the book fair last spring was our last book fair.  Last May, in an 11th hour miracle, the librarian’s jobs were saved.  This year we do not expect that to happen this year.  Next year when the teacher’s ask when is the book fair?  I am going to say, “Remember the librarians, whose jobs you could have saved if everyone in the district had voted to take ONE, count em’ ONE furlough day?! Well, book fairs were her ‘thing’ along with a hell of a lot more…”
Let me just quietly put my soap box away now…there it is neatly tucked under my desk again…..for now.

I went out with my camera when the Scholastic truck arrived.  I even took a photo of the driver, I won’t add it here, but he was very happy to pose.

My book fair nightmare came true this year.  The second book fair crate got stuck in the elevator on its way down and is currently in limbo about 5 feet above the library floor.  There are still three crates stuck upstairs.  We hope they repair the elevator soon – last time it broke it took over a year for them to repair it…..TCB

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Fairs, HotLibraryTech, Layoffs, Librarians, Library Technicians

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

