Special treats

I wanted to make a special treat for Dr. Seuss’ birthday for the library club members.
I saw this idea on someone else’s blog and duplicated the idea.  I have to tell you that these ice cream cone cupcakes do not travel well unless you have a specially made holder.  I didn’t so there were some last-minute frosting touch-ups before the big reveal.

If you google Dr. Seuss cupcakes you will get the actual blog and the writer’s instructions for these “Wocket in my Pocket” cupcakes.
A few of the kids were excited to get a birthday cupcake – I have remind myself to lower my expectations.  What I think is fun – teenagers think is “ho-hum.”

This was not enough creativity for the month for me, so I went on to make “Green eggs and bacon.”
Pretzel sticks, melted white chocolate chips and green M&M’s – the M side down in the chocolate.

Lay the pretzel sticks on wax paper, drizzle a teaspoon of white chocolate in the middle, it is okay if it oozes over the sides.  While the chocolate is still warm, put one green M&M, m side down in the warm chocolate.  When set, serve.

The high schoolers weren’t very impressed with this either, but it was something fun for me to do.

Explore posts in the same categories: Dr. Seuss, HotLibraryTech

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Special treats”


  1. Ah, teenagers. They are genetically programmed to act bored when adults are around. I think the cupcakes and green eggs and bacon are adorable!


Leave a Reply

