What do you do all day?

    

     In the past, I have actually had administrators ask, (never to me personally, to my face, but to someone else, within earshot) “What does Mrs. Hot do all day, now that she is not “in charge” of textbooks?”  News flash – I should have never been “in charge” of textbooks – I would love to see the stipend for the 7 years I did someone else’s job. 

     Whew!  Deep cleansing breath – In – Out – Find my happy place…..

     In any case, I recently had a librarian from another school ask for the Hot Library Tech’s job description. 
Wow, that required some thought.  While there is an actual job description that was released by the “Ministry of Magical Learning”  it does not begin to cover what library technicians do within the course of a day.  
     So, instead of doing what I do all day, I composed a job description including even, (shock) a little humor.  I am not finished yet, but it was enough information for the anxious librarian who emailed my librarian 12 times during the course of the day to check on my progress. 
     I shared my composition with another tech – we have a joke that we sit around eating bonbons and reading all day.   These are his thoughts on our job description: 

1.)    Open library, turn on computer
2.)    Place bon bons on desk within easy reach
3.)    Spin around in chair 5 times
4.)    Read magazines
5.)    Count paperclips

Gotta go, my bonbons are melting!

Explore posts in the same categories: HotLibraryTech, Humor, Job description, Librarians, Library humor, Reading

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “What do you do all day?”

  1. Tommy Says:

    I feel so flattered to be included! Love the illustration. 😉
    Tommy: Hot library technicians need to stick together – especially while we wait to hear the status of our jobs.

  2. jan Says:

    Yes…cuts! I think our few remaining librarians will be shown the door. What a sad statement on the state of things – and the state. Another teacher said today she overhead a Republican politician complaining that his teacher was a mother, and they basically work part-time since they get out at 3 p.m. Jon Stewart replied that his mother must have been a really crummy teacher if that’s when her workk day ended. Working in a library is a bit like being an air traffic controller – and some of those books are almost as heavy as jumbo jets!


Leave a Reply

