Banned Books Week

Yes, I am late posting my photos from Banned Books week –
My excuse is parenting an honor’s student, in orchestra and band.   

We came up with this idea a few years ago.  I take the books from the English department’s core reading list, wrap a luggage chain around them with a luggage lock.  We can’t lock our suitcases anymore so we might as well put it to good use. 

We use brown paper bags  notating a portion of the battle in court and or the school district board meeting.
We also have a “Censored” stamp. 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Banned Books, Bulletin Boards, Bulletin Boards on a Budget, High School Libraries, HotLibraryTech, Librarian, Librarians, Libraries, Library, Library Technicians, Read, Reading

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Banned Books Week”


  1. This is great! Nothing makes me want to read a book more than finding that it’s banned. A few years ago, there was a campaign in my school district to get certain books banned from the school libraries. Fortunately, the crusade died out. Sometimes, however, I am a little shocked at the books that are available to youngsters at our public library — I found those Gothic novels racy back in my girlhood — but I wouldn’t want to ban them. It must be hard to find books for the school reading list that don’t cause some parents to shriek.
    Catherine: To be perfectly honest with you, not many parents really care what their children are reading. I have watched this for the past several years. The parents are just so grateful that their children are old enough to get themselves to school that they (the parents) have dropped the ball.
    Don’t get me started.
    I have been known to say on any given morning as a watch a student walk down the hall….”Did your mama see what you’re wearing….or more appropriately, what you’re not wearing today?!”
    There are books in our library that I would tell my son, “those books may be okay for some families, approved by them, but not our family.”
    We have not had money to buy books in about 5 years. Our last purchase order was for books to enhance the research section for the 9th grade Health report. Those books were outdated by the time I got them on the shelves. We are lucky that we get some books from a committee that my boss is on. EVen so,there are some books that we just take one look at and say, “Nope!”

  2. alwaysjan Says:

    The Runaway Bunny was one banned because it featured a black and a white rabbit – together! I was busted for reading James Bond novels in study hall back when I was in middle school. Hmmm, and I have a son named Ian. I think the best thing to do is offer a caveat that the book contains mature themes/language. Last year I had a third grader who was an extraordinary reader, but her mother said it was increasingly hard to find books for her that didn’t expose her to some issues that were not age appropriate.
    Jan: The Runaway Bunny was one of my son’s favorite books when he was little. We’d read that every night. I will have to check the resource guide…or are you pulling my leg?
    It is very hard when you have a far above average reader to find books for them. I know I was surprised to learn that most YA novels are written at approx 5th grade level. Twilight is considered 5th grade level – I can’t quote you the A/R quiz number.

  3. Deborah Faux Says:

    I can’t and won’t believe that “Runaway Bunny”, a favorite children’s book was banned becuase it showed as black and white bunny together. Get a grip people…these are the colors of bunnies…go look at you local pet store. Obvisouly someone had too much time on their hands and a very warped mind!!!!
    Deborah: I happen to have my son’s teethed on copy of “The Runaway Bunny” right here on my desk.
    There are only white bunnies pictured in the book – which I supposed could open up a whole other “can of worms… or carrot juice.”
    I think my friend Planetjan was pulling my leg about the book being banned. I own copies of “Banned Books” by Robert P. Doyle for the last 4 years. The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown is not listed.


Leave a Reply

