Ruined: A Novel

Before spring break I was checking out several novels to a student. 
The student asked me if I had read one of the books she was borrowing….”Mrs. Hot have you read Ruined?  It looks good, but I don’t know, she said.” 
I said, “I think the cover looks very interesting…that’s what grabs my attention first….sometimes it is the title. I have wanted to read it, but it’s always checked out when I look for it.  When you finish, bring it back to me personally and I’ll be able to check it out myself.” 
“What if I don’t like it, can I bring it right back?” she asked. 
“Yes, of course you can, but I once heard a ‘rule of thumb’ on reading books you are not sure of…read at least 50 pages…give it a chance, before you decide that you don’t like it.  Just because it says it is a ghost story doesn’t mean that it will be scary.” 

She said she would and the day continued.  In the late afternoon though, I found the novel in the book drop.  Well, they don’t always listen to what I tell them something….big surprise.   I promptly checked it out to myself to read during break. 

I really enjoyed Ruined.  On the Mrs. Hot scale, I give it “3 flames.”  (Mrs. Hot…get it?)
I started reading it one afternoon and finished about 2 am.  My family knew by the look on my face that they were responsible for dinner.  I put the book down long enough to finish my Double Double that Hubby so graciously brought me.

In Ruined, Rebecca Brown is a high school student sent to New Orleans to stay with a family friend while Rebecca’s father goes to China on a business trip.  It is culture shock for Rebecca to go from a New York City high school to an all girls school in post Katrina, New Orleans.
All is not what it seems as Rebecca begins to find out.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Reviews, Books, High School Libraries, HotLibraryTech, Librarian, Librarians, Libraries, Library, Library Technicians, Life, Read, Reading, Ruined by Paula Morris, Students, Teenagers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

