New Moon Bulletin Board

imageCA9CG5JF

I have been neglectful in sharing some of my many Twilight series of boards and displays.  With only 10 days left until the movie premieres, it is not too late to put up a display to encourage your students to “Read the Book, See the Movie.” 

image 4 There are many places where you can find suitable posters/photos for a New Moon display.  Hot Topic, Target, Wal-Mart and my personal budget friendly spot…the Internet. 

     In five minutes I can find and save 15 – 20 photos to use, that all have the principal’s seal of approval. 

     If you are printing photos be sure to have good photo paper and enough color ink. 

Wait until you see the photos for Breaking Dawn….I will have to censor that board! 

image 6

     I am a big fan of ribbon…and with red satin ribbon being featured on the cover of Eclipse… 

     I use it often on the Twilight series boards.  Michael’s is the place I go, although you may have a better option.  
     I found this ribbon on sale for $1.99 for the spool. 

     Remember the lettering:  Whether you are lucky enough to have push-pin letters, die cuts from Ellison, or a Cricut…don’t forget your title!  I saw this idea at Borders

image 5     A 3-D addition that I am fortunate to have, are old movie projector film reels. 

     I don’t know where you can find these ancient artifacts these days…
perhaps on an archeological dig somewhere….but two ideas come to mind. 

     1.  Ebay or 2.  Go to the teacher who has been on campus the longest and see if you can rummage around in their storage room/closet. 

     If your school has a theatre or media room, check the cabinets for hidden treasures. 

     As you can see I used the red ribbon to substitute for the film, but I have even used exposed 35 mm film and old film strips in displays.

While you are at Michael’s, pick up this picture frame kit idea that I have turned into a count down calendar.  image 8

Hope this post gives you some good ideas to create some excitement in your libraries for the premiere of New Moon.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Bulletin Boards, Bulletin Boards on a Budget, High School Libraries, HotLibraryTech, Librarian, Librarians, Libraries, Library, Life, Movies, Read, Reading, Stephenie Meyer, Teenagers, Twilight

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “New Moon Bulletin Board”


  1. This is great. I love looking at bulletin board displays. The trouble with the few that I’ve done (designed for my own amusement) is that I never change them….so I’ll look here for inspiration.

    Using red ribbon for the film is brilliant!

    Thanks Catherine! I am sure people wondering what I am doing while I stand in front of the ribbon section in craft stores. I find inspiration in the starngest places.


Leave a Reply

