Inside Information

Pardon me while I rant….yes I know, again. 
While I am a big softy on the inside, students think that I am tough, mean &…my personal favorite…a bitch. 
My teacher assistants are so funny when they think they are filling me in on this inside information, in whispered tones they tell me,  “they think you are a female dog”…they are afraid if they say “bitch” out loud, they will get a detention. 

I have to keep from laughing.
Really, I am okay with the title; it means I am doing my job. 
I am making sure that the students stay within the ‘boundaries’ that have been established.  It is a proven that children want/need to have boundaries….it is just unfortunate that many students I deal with have never had any parenting.  Yes, it would be fair to say that some have been raised by wolves, and you would not be that far off the mark.  (oops, a friend reminds me that wolves are very attentive parents…guess I’ll have to find another example.)

Really, I would rather the students think I’m a bitch, than for them to actually know how kind hearted I truly am. 
I don’t believe I would ever have the upper hand if they actually knew how nice I am. 
I have gone “to bat for them” with teachers, requested extensions on assignment deadlines, something that I truly NEVER do…especially with heads of departments.  I have even allowed students to leave class to make up work in another class so that they can get a passing grade to graduate. 
They would probably be mortified to know that I pray for them, that they make the right decisions.  Judging by the number of “tummies” I have seen this year in the Freshman Class….(14 & 15 year olds) either I am not praying hard enough or perhaps abstinence based Health classes are not working. 

Morals are still okay to teach in my opinion. 

Students who are assigned to me get their birthdays celebrated, I bake for them for no particualr reason and they even have their own treat jar.  They may also get an occasional pep talk. 

Come May of each year, The List comes out.  The students on it may not graduate if they do not pull up their grades, attend night school to make up “F’s”, or complete assignments.  One of my seniors almost didn’t graduate because she did not complete her Economics’s semester project. 
Do you think she got a “pep” talk? You bet. 
And even worse than when she told her parents…when she told me what was going on, I only looked at her.  She told me that my disappointed expression was worse than both her parents and grand parents yelling at her.  I simply reminded her that for an hour every school day, she has just about every resource, including me at her fingertips.  She had everything she needed to complete the work, she just needed to do it. 
The good news is that she graduated last month.

I think when the entire staff sees another batch that we have all nutured, in one way or another, we all breathe a collective sigh of relief.  Thankfully I can exhale now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, High School Libraries, HotLibraryTech, Librarian, Libraries, Library, Life, Teenagers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Inside Information”

  1. alwaysjan Says:

    To be called a bitch is a badge of honor I wear proudly, because the students who have me know I’m a tough cookie, but soft on the inside. Some of my students would have turned out better HAD they been raised by wolves (who, by the way, are very attentive parents). At least they would have grown up in a caring family and would know how to get their own food. 🙂 That said, I know you go the extra mile for students. Way above and beyond the call of duty (and the wild).


Leave a Reply

